The Perfect Murder: Spring 2014 Production

Peter James is one of the world’s great crime writers, the winner of numerous awards both in the UK and in the USA including the coveted US Barry Award for Best British Crime Thriller in 2012. His Roy Grace series has sold more than 15 million copies and has been published in 36 languages. The Perfect Murder spent 15 weeks at Number One in the book charts. This will be the first time Peter James’s work has been adapted for the stage.

Victor Smiley and his wife Joan have been married for a long time. But their marriage has reached crisis point and Victor has decided there is only one way to get Joan out of his life forever… but he’s about to get a nasty surprise. As young Detective Roy Grace starts to investigate his very first homicide case, dark forces intervene and Grace begins to fear that nothing is quite as it seems.

Olivier Award-winner Ian Talbot directs an allstar cast including Les Dennis, one of Britain’s most-loved actors. His extensive theatre credits include Chicago, Legally Blonde, Hairspray, Art, Skylight, the award-winning Jigsy, and he recently starred as King Arthur in the West End in Spamalot. On television he has appeared in Ricky Gervais’s Extras and Life’s Too Short, the 2013 Midsomer Murders Christmas special and finished joint runner-up in Celebrity Masterchef.

The cast also includes Claire Goose from Waking the Dead, Casualty, The Bill and SKY TV’s Mount Pleasant; Gray O’Brien, who played Tony Gordon in Coronation Street; Steven Miller from Casualty and Simona Armstrong from BBC1’s How Do You Solve a Problem Like Maria?

Critical acclaim for Peter James’ The Perfect Murder

‘It’s a night for everyone, with horror, intrigue, mystery and yet plenty of comedy included. It’s terrific!’
British Theatre Guide

‘There are enough twists and turns, as well as shocks and laughs, in this thriller to keep any murder/mystery fans guessing the outcome. A cracking night out!’
Manchester Evening News

Tour Dates
  • Wednesday 8 - Saturday 11 January 2014
    Dartford, The Orchard Theatre
  • Monday 13 January – Saturday 18 January 2014
    Theatre Royal Bath
  • Monday 20 January – Saturday 25 January 2014
    Norwich Theatre Royal
  • Monday 27 January – Saturday 1 February 2014
    Theatre Royal Brighton
  • Tuesday 4 February – Saturday 8 February 2014
    Southampton, Mayflower Theatre
  • Monday 10 February – Saturday 15 February 2014
    Malvern Theatres
  • Monday 17 February – Saturday 22 February 2014
    Truro, Hall for Cornwall
  • Monday 24 February – Saturday 1 March 2014
    Coventry, Belgrade Theatre
  • Monday 3 March – Friday 7 March 2014
    Derby Theatre
  • Monday 10 March – Saturday 15 March 2014
    Wycombe Swan
  • Tuesday 17 March – Saturday 22 March 2014
    Glasgow, King’s Theatre
  • Monday 24 March – Saturday 29 March 2014
    Cambridge Arts Theatre
  • Monday 31 March – Saturday 5 April 2014
    Milton Keynes Theatre
  • Tuesday 8 March – Saturday 12 April 2014
    Woking, New Victoria Theatre
  • Tuesday 15 April – Saturday 19 April 2014
    Manchester Opera House
  • Tuesday 22 April – Saturday 26 April 2014
    Richmond Theatre
Production Photos
Videos